layout. borderImage
Logo Jörg Wolff Foundation
 

Jörg Wolff grew up as the third son of 7 children in a family of German entrepreneurs in Stuttgart. Born into this middle class family during World War II in 1941, he learned early on that sharing what one has is key in life. Today, Jörg Wolff is a successful businessman himself. His father, who was a true representative of Christian values combined with business ethics, was his role model. Hence, these qualities are an integral part of his belief system and of his business management style.

The invention of the tanning bed back in 1975 and the incorporation of KOSMEDICO - Vertrieb kosmetischer und medizinischer Lampen GmbH in 1976 in Stuttgart, laid the foundation for the company known today as JW Holding Group.

For more than 40 years, JW Holding GmbH has been a successful, internationally engaged group of companies. Its business activities span the entire spectrum from the physiological utilisation of UV radiation, i.e. from tanning and its medical application (photo therapy) to the energetic harnessing of the rays of the sun (solar heat).

The group’s global workforce totals about 270 employees. The company ships its products to customers in almost 60 countries. Today, the annual revenues of the Holding total approximately EUR 60 million.

The company’s success in its core business stems from patents that evolved in its research and development activities. Far beyond the boundaries of the group of companies, the Wolff Family is involved in and supports scientific research and education projects pertaining to the health impact of natural and artificially generated optical radiation on humans. Ever since 1989, the group of companies has been awarding a special price of outstanding scientific achievements to commemorate the work of Swiss “sun doctor” Arnold Rikli, in whose name the award is bestowed upon the recipients. Jörg Wolff is deeply committed to the objective of making this scientific work possible for the sustainable future – in the absence of ulterior business motives. Hence, sponsoring programmes are made available through his Foundation. 

In addition to his numerous business responsibilities, Jörg Wolff has been engaged in volunteer work at his church for many years. His commitment led him to West Africa, in particular to Sierra Leone, a country which suffered from a terrible civil war from 1991-2002. On location, he found himself confronted with the devastating situation and got involved to bring relief to those suffering. Today, helping those who are caught up in desperate scenarios through no fault of their own, is still priority one for this humanitarian. Consequently, his Foundation supports numerous development projects in West Africa.

Music is a powerful force in the lives of founders Dr. Bärbel and Jörg Wolff. They are both amateur musicians themselves and very much enjoy listening to the musical performances of others. However, the Wolffs do not just appreciate music as a recreational activity, but also as a precious cultural treasure that needs to be preserved. The couple is therefore fully committed to active support of music programmes and to the fostering of up-and-coming young musicians in Stuttgart as well as in West Africa.

Long before the inauguration of the Foundation, Jörg Wolff volunteered his services in numerous programmes and extended financial support to aid projects. He remains engaged in many of these undertakings and always advocates for the common good of humankind.  The multiple facets of Jörg Wolff’s own life combined with the desire to share his success with others led him to create this Foundation – an organisation that is dedicated to a variety of Foundation goals. They all have one common objective, which is to enable people to enjoy better lives.

 

 

layout. borderImage

layout. borderImage
Logo Jörg Wolff Stiftung
 

Jörg Wolff entstammt  einer mittelständischen Unternehmerfamilie  in Stuttgart. In der Kriegszeit 1941 geboren, lernte er als dritter Sohn von 7 Kindern früh, dass teilen ein wesentlicher Bestandteil des Lebens ist. Jörg Wolff, heute selber erfolgreicher Unternehmer, wurde vom Vorbild seines Vaters geprägt. Die vorgelebte christliche Wirtschaftsethik ist fester Bestandteil seiner Weltanschauung und seiner Unternehmensführung. 

Mit der Erfindung der Sonnenbank im Jahre 1975 und der Gründung der Firma KOSMEDICO - Vertrieb kosmetischer und medizinischer Lampen GmbH - 1976 in Stuttgart wurde der Grundstein für die JW Holding Gruppe in heutiger Form gelegt.

Die JW Holding GmbH ist eine seit über 40 Jahren erfolgreiche, international tätige Unternehmensgruppe. Ihre Geschäftsfelder reichen von der physiologischen Anwendung von UV-Strahlung, also die Besonnung sowie deren medizinische Anwendung im Rahmen der Phototherapie, über das Angebot von Produkten für die Schaffung von Lichtwelten bis hin zur energetischen Nutzung von Sonnenstrahlen im Bereich Solarthermie.

Die Gruppe beschäftigt etwa 270 Mitarbeiter weltweit und beliefert Kunden in fast 60 Ländern. Der Jahresumsatz der Holding beläuft sich heute auf rund 60 Mio. Euro.

Die Grundlage des erfolgreichen Kerngeschäfts sind aus Forschung und Entwicklung entstandene Patente. Über die eigene Unternehmensgruppe hinaus engagiert sich die Familie Wolff und fördert die wissenschaftliche Forschung und Lehre über die gesundheitlichen Wirkungen von natürlicher oder künstlich erzeugter optischer Strahlung auf den Menschen. Schon seit 1989 vergibt die Firmengruppe im Andenken an den Schweizer „Sonnendoktor“ Arnold Rikli  den nach diesem benannten Preis für besondere wissenschaftliche Leistungen. Es ist für Jörg Wolff ein großes Anliegen diese wissenschaftliche Arbeit, frei von Unternehmensinteressen, dauerhaft zu ermöglichen und im Rahmen seiner Stiftung zu fördern. 
 
Neben seinen beruflichen Aufgaben ist Jörg Wolff seit vielen Jahren im kirchlichen Ehrenamt tätig. Sein Engagement führte ihn nach Westafrika insbesondere nach Sierra Leone, das in den Jahren 1991-2002 besonders unter einem grausamen Bürgerkrieg litt. Vor Ort stellte er sich dem erschütternden Anblick und half, das Leiden der Menschen zu lindern. Menschen zu helfen, die unverschuldet in Not gekommen sind, ist ihm bis heute besonders wichtig. Aus diesem Grund unterstützt seine Stiftung zahlreiche Entwicklungshilfe-Projekte in Westafrika.

Im Leben des Stifterehepaars Dr. Bärbel und Jörg Wolff spielt die Musik eine wichtige Rolle. Selber musizieren aber auch die Musik anderer genießen, bereitet ihnen eine große Freude. Das Ehepaar Wolff schätzt die Musik nicht nur als Freizeitbeschäftigung, sondern auch als wertvolles Kulturgut, welches es zu schützen gilt. Die aktive Unterstützung musikalischer Einrichtungen aber auch die Förderung des musikalischen Nachwuchses sowohl in Stuttgart, dem Stammsitz der JW Holding GmbH, als auch in Westafrika ist für beide deshalb eine Verpflichtung. 

Lange vor Stiftungsgründung engagierte sich Jörg Wolff in vielen Bereichen ehrenamtlich und unterstützte Hilfsprojekte finanziell. Auch heute ist er nach wie vor in zahlreichen Bereichen aktiv und setzt sich für das Wohl der Menschen ein. Die vielseitigen Facetten des Lebens von Jörg Wolff, und der Wunsch, auch andere am eigenen Erfolg teilhaben zu lassen, haben dazu geführt, dass er eine Stiftung ins Leben gerufen hat, die sich verschiedenen Stiftungszwecken widmet. Allen gemein ist das Ziel, den Menschen ein besseres Leben zu ermöglichen.

 

 

layout. borderImage