The Arnold Rikli Award

The Arnold Rikli Award is an international award offered to all scientific disciplines represented in photo biology that focus on the effects of optical radiation on the human organism. Research work focussing on this topic can be considered for the Arnold Rikli Award. The interdisciplinary character of the Arnold Rikli Awardis evident in the wide spectrum of scientific disciplines, including medicine, epidemiology, physics or even meteorology. Representatives of all of the aforementioned have won the award.

The applications are assessed by an independent scientific jury. Apart from an overall assessment of the research projects the individual members of the jury evaluate independent from each other the practical and clinical significance, originality and relevance, scientific interest, methodology and presentation by means of a points system.

The Arnold Rikli Award stands under the patronage of the European Society for Photobiology (ESP).

The panel is composed of internationally acclaimed experts:

  • Prof. Dr. med. Christiane Bayerl, Wiesbaden
  • Prof. Dr. Rex Tyrrell, Bath (GB)
  • Prof. Dr. med. Jörg Reichrath, Homburg
  • Herr Dr. med Rainer Stange, Berlin
  • Herr Prof. Dr. med. Franz Trauringe, St. Pölten (Österreich)

Prof. Krutmann terminated his collaboration because of pressure at work. We thank him very much for his active cooperation with the jury for years and wish him all the best.

Our particular thanks go to the scientists Dr. Krause and Prof. Heering. Both acted actively in the panel for long time and were closely connected with the Arnold Rikli Award. We were deeply affected by the deaths of Dr. Krause in June 2019 and Prof. Heering in February 2020. The Joerg Wolff Foundation will esteem both remarkable scientists with deep gratitude.

Arnold Rikli Award:

The announcement of the Arnold Rikli Award is waived for the year 2020. The announcement of the 21. Arnold Rikli Award will presumably occur in 2021.

The Arnold Rikli Award 2019

The winner of the Arnold Rikli Prize 2019 is Prof. Dr. Florian Gruber, Research Division for Biology and Pathobiology of the Skin. Department of Dermatology, Medical University of Vienna, Austria. The intended prize ceremony on the occasion of the International Symposium “Biologic Effects of Light“ in Homburg/Saar couldn’t be undertaken due to the corona pandemia and must be shifted to the next year 2021.

Prof. Gruber was awarded for his research entitled” A novel role for NUPR1 in the keratinocyte stress response to UV oxidized phospholipids“.

The focal point of research of Florian Gruber’s working group concerns the interaction of the skin with environmental factors. Special interest lies in the role of oxidized phospholipids which are involved in numerous diseases. In the framework of the award-winning research work was investigated which oxidized phospholipid mediators will be generated in primary human keratinocytes upon exposure to UV radiation and their contribution to UVA responses. Exposure to UVA and to in vitro UVA-oxidized phospholipids activated, on the level of the entirety of mRNA and proteins in the cell, the antioxidant response signaling (NRF2/), lipid metabolizing enzyme expression and cell stress due to unfolded protein response (UPR) signaling. The nuclear protein 1 (NUPR1) was identified as an upstream regulator of the cell stress induced by oxidized phospholipids and UVA radiation which was expressed in the epidermis. Silencing of NUPR1 resulted in augmented expression of antioxidant and lipid detoxification genes and disturbed the cell cycle, making it a potential key factor in skin reactive oxygen species responses intimately involved in aging and pathology.

Prof. Dr. Florian Gruber

Previous Arnold Rikli Award winners

The following scientists were awarded for their research with the Arnold Rikli Prize:

F. Gruber (Vienna, Austria)
A novel role for NUPR1 in the keratinocyte stress response to UV oxidized phospholipids

J. Robijns (Hasselt, Belgium)
Photobiomodulation therapy for the prevention and management of acute radiodermatitis in cancer patients

A. Kawasaki (Lousanne, Schwitzerland) und
M. Münch (Berlin, Germany)
Acute non-visual light responses in patients and healthy controls

L. Zastrow (Monaco) 
Free Radical Formation in Human Skin and Threshold Value: A New Universal Body Constant

not awarded

T. Tüting (Bonn, Germany)
Ultraviolet-radiation-induced inflammation promotes angiotropism and metastasis in melanoma

T. Haarmann-Stemmann (Dusseldorf, Germany)
The role of the aryl hydrocarbon receptor (AhR) signalling pathway in the cutaneous UVB response.

S. Emmert (Goettingen, Germany)
DNA repair, photocarcinogenesis and new phototherapeutic approaches

C. Suschek (Dusseldorf, Germany)
Whole Body UVA Irradiation Lowers Systemic Blood Pressure by Release of Nitric Oxide From Intercutaneous Photolabile Nitric Oxide Derivates

J. Schauber (Munich, Germany)
Regulation of the innate immune defence in human skin by UV phototherapy via activation of the vitamin D3 metabolism.

J. C. van der Leun (Utrecht, Netherlands)
Climate change and skin cancer

C. Jantschitsch (Kiel, Germany)
Infrared radiation confers resistance to UV-induced apoptosis

T. Maisch (Regensburg, Germany)
The role of singlet oxygen and oxygen concentration in photodynamic inactivation of bacteria

J. Reichrath (Homburg/Saar, Germany),
Balance between risks of vitamin D deficiency and skin cancer.

R. Krause (Berlin, Germany),
The role of UV light in cardovascular risk

C.F. Garland, F.C. Garland and E.G. Gorham (San Diego, USA),
UV light and vitamin D in human health, epidemiological exploration

D.E. Brash (Yale, USA),
p53 and photocarcinogenesis

A. Falkenbach (Frankfurt/Main, Germany),
UV-exposition for health care

H. Meffert and H.-P. Scherf (Berlin, Germany), Systematic photo effects
J. Krutmann (Freiburg, Germany),

M. F. Holick (Boston, USA),
Vitamin D photosynthesis
Support prizes: E. Lembke (Kartzow, Deutschland) and P. Lehmann (Düsseldorf, German)

Arnold Rikli Sponsorship Award

The sponsorship prize to the value of 5,000 Euro was announced for the first time in 2016 as an addition to the annual Arnold Rikli Award and is intended particularly for young photobiological scientists up to 35 years old. The 2nd sponsorship prize was announced in 2018.

The previous winners of the Arnold Rikli Sponsorship Award are:

Pilar Acedo Núñez (London, United Kingdom):
Tackling cancer stem cells via light-based therapies as a novel therapeutic strategy to improve pancreatic cancer outcomes

Sonja Faßbender und Kevin Sondenheimer (Dusseldorf, Germany):
Keratinocytes Counteract UVB-Induced Pigmentation Via HIF-1alpha Activation

This Webseite uses cookies, small text files stored in your browser. Enabling these cookies, you help us to offer you a better experience.