The Arnold Rikli Award

The Arnold Rikli Award is an international award offered to all scientific disciplines represented in photo biology that focus on the effects of optical radiation on the human organism. Research work focussing on this topic can be considered for the Arnold Rikli Award. The interdisciplinary character of the Arnold Rikli Awardis evident in the wide spectrum of scientific disciplines, including medicine, epidemiology, physics or even meteorology. Representatives of all of the aforementioned have won the award.

The applications are assessed by an independent scientific jury. Apart from an overall assessment of the research projects the individual members of the jury evaluate independent from each other the practical and clinical significance, originality and relevance, scientific interest, methodology and presentation by means of a points system.

The Arnold Rikli Award stands under the patronage of the European Society for Photobiology (ESP).

The jury

The panel is composed of internationally acclaimed experts:

  • Prof. Dr. med. Christiane Bayerl, Wiesbaden (Germany)
  • Prof. Dr. Rex Tyrrell, Bath (Great Britain)
  • Prof. Dr. med. Jörg Reichrath, Homburg (Germany)
  • Herr Dr. med Rainer Stange, Berlin (Germany)
  • Herr Prof. Dr. med. Franz Trautinger, St. Pölten (Austria)

Prof. Krutmann terminated his collaboration because of pressure at work. We thank him very much for his active cooperation with the jury for years and wish him all the best.

Our particular thanks go to the scientists Dr. Krause and Prof. Heering. Both acted actively in the panel for long time and were closely connected with the Arnold Rikli Award. We were deeply affected by the deaths of Dr. Krause in June 2019 and Prof. Heering in February 2020. The Joerg Wolff Foundation will esteem both remarkable scientists with deep gratitude.

Expert for research and education

Dr. Peter Bocionek was responsible for promoting research and educational programmes about the health impact of natural or artificially generated optical radiation on humans for the Jörg Wolff Foundation since its inception.

Until shortly before his death, he coordinated the announcement and awarding of the Arnold Rikli Prize. It is thanks to his great knowledge and commitment that the Jörg Wolff Foundation was able to make a remarkable contribution to the promotion of science.

We thank Dr. Peter Bocionek for his great achievement and cherish his memory.

The Arnold Rikli Award 2019

The winner of the Arnold Rikli Prize 2019 is Prof. Dr. Florian Gruber, Research Division for Biology and Pathobiology of the Skin. Department of Derma
Read More

This Webseite uses cookies, small text files stored in your browser. Enabling these cookies, you help us to offer you a better experience.